Friday, March 17, 2023

How Much Is Amazon Advertising

Don't Miss

How Sponsored Products Daily Budgets Work

Amazon PPC Advertising Campaigns | How Much Daily Budget Is ENOUGH?!

You set, or , a maximum daily amount that you are willing to spend on your campaigns. With Sponsored Products, the amount you enter is the average daily amount you are willing to spend over a calendar month. For example, if you set your daily budget at $100, you may receive up to $3,100 worth of clicks in that calendar month .

Although the minimum daily budget is $1, Amazon recommends a minimum of $10 to ensure your ads do not stop showing in the middle of the day. The company notes that you will typically see performance results such as impressions, clicks, and sales with a beginner budget of just $10 a day. Avoid setting a budget that you are not completely comfortable with. You can start small and invest more as you scale and test what ad types work best for your business.

About the Author

Catie Grasso is a content manager at Feedvisor where she oversees and executes on the company’s content strategy. She enjoys running, trying new restaurants, and traveling.

Webfx Will Help You Manage Your Amazon Ad Budget

When you run any advertising campaign, your budget affects the effectiveness of your ad. If you want your Amazon ads to be effective and drive the best results, you must manage your budget. At WebFX, we have over 25 years of experience managing PPC campaigns for our clients.

Were a full-service digital marketing company that . Our team of over 300 experts will bring their knowledge and expertise to your campaign. Well help you create an Amazon advertising campaign that helps you earn more valuable leads for your business.If youre looking for a company that drives results, look no further than WebFX. In the past five years, weve driven over $2.4 billion in sales and over 6.3 million leads for our clients in the past five years. You can count on our team of experts to help you create an Amazon ad budget that works for your business.

Dont believe us? Just ask our clients! Check out our glowing 750+ client testimonials that attest to the awesome work we do for them!

What Should Sellers Pay For Amazon Marketing Services

When it comes to building a marketing plan and budget, its a challenge. You have numerous service options to consider, from product optimization to product ads. Plus, marketing requires personalization you cant adopt a one-size-fits-all strategy and expect results.

Thats why the following prices for Amazon marketing services serve only as estimates. When you start requesting quotes from agencies, their recommended strategy may result in higher or lower costs, so keep this in mind when viewing the rates below.

Learn more about what your business should pay for Amazon marketing services:

Small business

A small business can spend $9000 to $15,000 per month on Amazon marketing services. Since many small businesses operating on Amazon do not have a physical storefront, they often have lower operating costs, which allows them to invest more in marketing and advertising.

Depending on the size of your product catalog, your monthly spend may vary.

For example, if your company sells 25 products, versus 50 products, you will likely have lower monthly costs. That doesnt mean your business cant spend the same as a competitor with 50 products, however. You could, investing the funds in greater promotion of your existing product catalog.

Midsize company

A midsize company can spend $15,000 to $35,000 per month on Amazon marketing services. Depending on your business goals, operating costs, industry competition, and a few other factors you may exceed this amount.

Read Also: Using Amazon Hub Locker

How To Use The Search Term Report

Heres an example of how this report can be so vital.

Lets say youre managing someones campaign that gets a lot of conversions for the broad match keyword running shoes.

You obviously want to increase your spend on this broad match phrase, but what should you use for an exact match? Thats where your search term report can act as a keyword research tool and help you harvest the search term that converts best. For this example lets say its something along the lines of mens running shoes.

Using search term reports can also show you search terms that are converting poorly by analyzing Impressions & CTR in the Search Term Report. These terms can be turned into negative keywords.

Another thing to keep in mind is that a search term report only shows things you got clicks for, not impressions. If youre CTR is only 1%, that means youll never see data for the other 99% of impressions.

Advanced Sellers Should Focus More On Acos

patriciaallendesigns: How Much Does Amazon Spend On ...

For more advanced sellers, the most important focus is achieving target ACOS.

If youre able to achieve an ACOS thats consistently profitable or right at break-even, then youll ideally want as many impressions, clicks, and sales as possible at that ACOS.

Make sure you never run out of budget if your ACOS is in profit or right at break-even. Sales from the PPC side of your business greatly benefit the organic side of your business.

Also Check: How To Link Your Amazon Prime To Twitch

So Whats The Best Bid Strategy For Amazon Sellers

Dynamic bidding can help you save money at times when your ads arent likely to convert. If youre testing a new campaign or if you want to reduce ad costs, chances are that this bidding strategy will be your best bet.

When it comes to Amazons other dynamic bid option , you should be careful. While you may want to try it out for especially competitive markets, its very easy to overspend for so-so results with this bidding strategy. Thats why its essential to keep a close eye on your bids if you choose this strategy.

For manual bids, Amazon will apply your bid to placements whether they will convert or not. The downside of this strategy is that you may end up overpaying for just a few clicks.

Join 150+ Leading Ecommerce Brands

And see how Visiture can grow your revenue online through award-winning transactional focused marketing services.

Ron Dod

Ronald Dod is the Chief Marketing Officer and Co-founder of Visiture, an end-to-end eCommerce marketing agency focused on helping online merchants acquire more customers through the use of search engines, social media platforms, marketplaces, and their online storefronts. His passion is helping leading brands use data to make more effective decisions in order to drive new traffic and conversions.

You May Like: How To Link Your Amazon Prime To Twitch

Ensure Your Ad Copy Is As Specific As Possible

Your ad copy should also be very specific in terms of what youre selling. For example, if youre selling a water bottle I want to know how many ounces/cups of water it holds, if its BPA free, if it keeps my water cold for up to a certain number of hours etc. While it might be hard to expose all of this information in the ad text, its important to jam the most important information in there. The ad below is a great example of one that does this well because I know the weight, height, and what this product comes with from reading the headline.

How Does The Amazon Advertising Platform Work

How Much Should I Spend on Amazon Advertising?

The way the Amazon advertising platform works varies by customer.

One of the marketing services offered by Amazon is helping the customer decide which type of Amazon ad is the best fit. The advertiser provides information about a product or products Amazon develops a campaign.

The Amazon campaign team reviews the information and develops a plan, based on the customer-provided product listings. This will further ensure the success of your .

Don’t Miss: How Do I Play My Amazon Music Playlist On Alexa

How To Set Your Amazon Ad Budget

If youre ready to start running an Amazon advertising campaign, youll need to set up your advertising budget. Here are five steps to help you set an advertising budget that is right for your business.

1. Identify your ACoS

When you set your budget, its important to look at your average cost of sale . This is the amount you spend to obtain leads. Its important to understand your ACoS so you know how your budget will work with it.

Think about how much you can afford to spend on advertising your products. You must take into account fees, production costs, and overhead. These are all factors that influence how much you can afford to spend on a campaign.

Lets say youre selling a product for $100. With sales tax, fees, product costs, and overhead, your costs may be around $70, or 70% of your product margin. This means you have 30% left to go towards profit.

This means that your ACoS needs to be less than 30% for your business to gain a profit.

When you identify your ACoS, youll have a better understanding of how much you need to spend to make a profit.

2. Figure out the duration of your campaign

As you try to figure out your budget, think about how long you want to run a campaign. Whether its a few days or a few weeks, you must take this into consideration. It will affect your budget.

This is where the average daily amount can help you organize your budget. You can set a certain amount you want to spend each day to expand your budget and reach more leads.

Are Amazon Ads Worth More Than Aws

Theres an old and common narrative around Amazon that it doesnt make money, it sells below cost, its subsidised by investors and in particular its subsidised by AWS. People tend to repeat these to each other as though theyre unquestionably true, but theyre either debatable or objectively false – for example, Amazon hasnt raised money directly from investors since the IPO in 1997, though it does pay people a lot of stock .

AWS is particularly interesting, though, because it is true that AWS is highly profitable and generates a lot of cash that Amazon can use for other things, and that naturally leads to the policy argument that we should split it apart from the rest of Amazon, so that the retail business would have to run off its own cashflow.

You could certainly do that , but you also need to understand that AWS is not the only highly profitable part of Amazon – its just the only part that the SEC makes Amazon break out. As I wrote here , Amazon is a bundle of lots of different businesses with different margins, and the net income line only shows you the aggregate. AWS operating income is broken out, but there are other things that arent.

Amazon started disclosing AWS numbers five years ago, but in the last couple of years another big and highly profitable business has quietly emerged in the footnotes at the back of the 10k. Amazons Other revenue line, which is primarily advertising, was over $20bn in 2020.

Don’t Miss: How To Use Amazon Photos

How Much Does It Cost To Advertise On Amazon

When most people think of Amazon, they usually think of Amazon Prime, free 2-day shipping and the joy of buying just about anything from the comfort of their home.

However, cleverly tucked behind this well-known brand is the platform that gives other eCommerce businesses the opportunity to get their products in front of an audience that already has their credit card out and ready to make a purchase.

Its true that there are platforms like Facebook, Instagram, Google Ads and others that you could volley your campaign budgets too. But advertising on Amazon has some unique advantages that may be exactly what your brand needs to hit its growth goals.

But, as with every PPC channel, there is always one looming question. In this case, that question is, how much does it cost to advertise on Amazon? Thats the question were going to be answering for you today. But first, lets talk about why Amazon ads are worth your time and money.

Find Key Data To Increase Conversions

How Much Do Amazon Ads Cost? 2021 Amazon Ad Pricing Guide

If you thought AdWords or Google Analytics interface was difficult to use, after using Amazons advertising platform you may think otherwise. Although the platform offers many comparable functionalities to those found in Google AdWords, Amazon seems to be a bit messier when it comes to manual data retrieval. Use the following steps to optimize your workflow and find the best opportunities to improve your sponsored product campaigns.

To get started, download your search term report to discover which keyword searches were responsible for retrieving your ads. The frequency of this step varies according to the maturity and size of your campaigns. New campaigns may require more frequent analysis to build a solid foundation and drive results.

Then, organize the data in your report to easily visualize and filter out search terms that are not performing well. From there, youll also want to analyze keyword bids, add matching types, and add long-tail keywords as discussed previously.

You May Like: How To Access Amazon Cloud Drive

How Much Does Amazon Charge Per Click

For Sponsored Ads set up through the Amazon Marketing Service self-service platform, Amazon charges you per click that your ads receive.

According to tests done by Practical Ecommerce, the cost-per-click price for running Sponsored Ads is usually $0.35 or less. And since youre in control of your budget, you can determine how much youre willing to pay before your campaign stops running .

If you have an ad budget of $100 for a certain ad, then youll pay per click up to that $100 amount plus your monthly Amazon Seller account fee.

So, you can expect to spend about 35 cents to generate one click. Thats a good benchmark to keep in mind. But, how much do you need to spend in order to actually drive sales for your products?

Thats what were going to dig into it next.

Whats The Difference Between Amazon Acos And Amazon Roas

Not much, actually. RoAS is the inverse of ACoS. So essentially, its just looking at the same metrics from a different perspective.

ACoS = Ad Spend / Ad Revenue

RoAS = Ad Revenue / Ad Spend

Both ACoS and RoAS measure the same thing: the relationship between your ad revenue and ad spendmeaning Amazon ACoS and RoAS both are measures of efficiency and profitability.

To continue with the example from above, if a campaign has generated $400 of advertising sales, and the ads for the campaign cost $100, then RoAS = $400 / $100 = $4.00. So for every dollar you spend on advertising, youll earn $4.00 in revenue.

ACoS = how much money you spend on advertising for every dollar in ad revenue you make

RoAS = how much ad revenue you make for every dollar you spend on advertising

Ultimately, whether you use RoAS or ACoS for analyzing your Amazon advertising campaigns is a matter of personal preference.

Also Check: How To Link Amazon Prime

Amazon’s Profits Aws And Advertising

People argue about Amazon a lot, and one of the most common and long-running arguments is about profits. The sales keep going up, and it takes a larger and larger share of US retail every year , but it never seems to make any money. Whats going on?

Well, to begin with, this idea itself is a little out of date: if we zoom in on that net income line, we can see that Amazons profitability appears to have shot up in the last couple of years. But what else is going on?

An obvious response here is that all of the profit is coming from AWS: its easy to assume that AWSs profits subsidise losses in the rest of the company. By extension, if anti-trust intervention split AWS apart from the rest of the company, those cross-subsidies would go away and Amazon would have to put up prices, or grow more slowly, or at any rate be a less formidable and aggressive competitor.

That doesnt really stand up to examination.

There is an easy way to get this wrong if youre not careful. If you only look at AWS and total operating profit, or aggregate the numbers that Amazon reports into AWS and Other, the resulting numbers will be misleading: the losses for RoW balance out the profit in the USA and make it look as though AWS is the only profitable business, especially from 2015 to 2017. The chart below shows the result: close to $3bn of operating profit in the US business in 2017 has vanished, and so has a $3bn operating loss in the RoW business. Dont do this.

Is Amazon Advertising Worth It The Benefits Of Sponsored Products


Online eCommerce businesses using the Amazon selling platform are met with a bunch of different options for approaching their business. One of them is the option to use Amazon Sponsored Products advertising to gain product visibility and drive sales.

But is Amazon Advertising worth it? Are Amazon Sponsored products good for driving revenue?

The short answer is yes! In fact Amazons Sponsored Products advertising options are not only good for business on the famous marketplace platform, theyre critical to your overall performance. Businesses using Amazon for greater eCommerce reach should consider using Amazon advertising if they want to grow the success of their business over time.

By 2019 advertising on the online marketplace giant reached almost $10 billion in US ad revenues, a number that represents nearly 8% of the digital ad market. By 2021 it could be closer to a tenth of total US ad revenue as marketers continue to realize the platforms potential.

Amazon Sponsored Products ads are managed by sellers and businesses on their own. But the option for advertising is only available to professional sellers, vendors, book vendors, Kindle Direct Publishing authors, and agencies. These types of ads appear on the top of the search results page anytime some one looks for something on Amazon, they can also appear at the bottom of product pages.

Weve laid out a few of the reasons why Amazon advertising is worth it for businesses that want to improve their organic success.

Don’t Miss: Britbox Trial Amazon

More articles

Popular Articles